Sunday. November 22, 2009. It was a tropical 66 in my house this morning. Did my cleaning and laundry this morning. Noticed the house was much cleaner than usual, probably because I have been keeping the windows and balcony closed.

Had a giant bowl of rice and veggie soup for dinner. It cost 10 Yuan (about $1.50 USD) and was enough for 4 people. It was just rice and finely cut up green vegetables. It could have used some soy or hot pepper sauce, but I wouldn’t make the waitress understand. In most places they have these things sitting on the table, but this place not.

The little tangerines are back. I bought some tonight, but they weren’t as sweet as I remembered them. Maybe it’s too early in the season. I’ll buy some more in a few days.

Here are some pictures of my favorite barbecue place. It is being remodeled and is closed now. Sad for me.

DSCN9086 DSCN9087 DSCN9088

Monday. November 23, 2009. 67 degrees in my place this morning. They keep revising the forecasts up this week. By Wednesday it will be in the 80s.

It turned out to be sunny and pleasant this afternoon. It was just a little cool, so walking was very comfortable.

Had a potato dish for dinner. I thought it was tofu when looking at the menu. I don’t remember having potatoes here before, though I see them for sale at the markets. The potato was sliced thin and sautéed with celery, red peppers and garlic. The dish was served on a heated cast iron plate. It started out very good, but got a little greasy toward the end. I ate most of it, and will probably have it again. I didn’t realize it at the time, but I miss potatoes.

Took my night walk for the first time in several days. It was pleasant. Stopped at the night market and bought some small green fruits. They look like a small apple and are about half the size of an egg. They were hard and had a single seed inside. I didn’t think much of them, but I am told they are sweet and very good if dried.

Tuesday. November 24, 2009. The mornings are getting warmer. It was a balmy 68 at 06:00. I didn’t use the electric heater after my shower this morning. The sky was clear. It looks like another nice day.

I have become fascinated with the damage the subway construction has been doing to the building that I have taken pics of before. So I went home that way again today and got a few more pictures. There was more damage and some very superficial repair work. I guess they know what they are doing, but I remember reading about an apartment building falling over on its side in Shanghai due to nearby construction.

Here are some pics of the front steps of the building, a view of the building, and part of the disintegrating sidewalk.

DSCN9101 DSCN9107 DSCN9123 DSCN9124 DSCN9100 DSCN9103

Played chess tonight and on my way home, I noticed my barbecue place had reopened. The inside was still closed, but the kitchen was functioning and they had tables set up in the parking lot. Even though I had eaten a Caesar salad at La Casa earlier, I stopped had had 3 grilled chicken legs for 4 Yuan (about 0.60 USD) each.

DSCN9126 

Wednesday. November 25, 2009. It was 70 this morning. I guess this is about as good as it gets, weather-wise. Sunny and slightly warm.

Dinner at my newly discovered noodle shop. The steamed dumplings and peanut sauce were 3 yuan and the bowl of soup was the same. So both dishes cost less than $1.00 total. Not bad.

DSCN9115 DSCN9119

Have gotten out of my nightly routine of walking in the park, but did it tonight. It was pleasant. Bought bananas and grapes at the night market on my way home.

Thursday. November 26, 2009. Thanksgiving. It looks like the warm sunny weather will continue today.

There is a restaurant advertising a full Thanksgiving dinner for 4 people for 698 Yuan (about $23.00 USD each), so three friends and I are going to meet there for dinner tonight.

On my way home this afternoon I heard a loud noise. It turned out it was a team of workers with what I assume was insect control. They had a large leaf blower looking device blowing out smoke. I ducked into a restaurant as they passed and got a couple of pics.

DSCN9109 DSCN9110 DSCN9111

It turned out that the Thanksgiving dinner I mentioned had to be reserved two days in advance. The restaurant was Italian, so we ended up eating pizza and pasta for dinner. I had a bowl of pasta with a spicy tomato sauce and parmesan cheese. The pasta was good and well prepared. We played dice and drank a “shoe” of beer.

On my way home I bought a charcoal grilled sweet potato from a street vendor and ate it before bed. That was my Thanksgiving dinner.

I think I might be getting a cold.

Friday. November 27, 2009. Another perfect morning. It’s supposed to get into the low 80s today, then there will be a gradual cooling trend.

Bought a passion fruit at the night market tonight. It has white flesh with tiny little black seeds inside. It’s a little bland. I just bought it for a little variety.

DSCN9127 DSCN9128

Saturday. November 28, 2009. Slightly cooler this morning, but still very pleasant. Did little unusual today. Played chess at La Casa this afternoon, then went to dinner at a Korean place with a few friends. Had a hot pot, but I didn’t get any pics.

The hot pot was interesting. It was divided into halves and sat in a recessed gas burner in the center of the table. Half was filled with a very spicy oil, the other half with seasoned broth. We had meat, fish, noodles, three veggies, mushrooms, and several fresh garnishes. Peanuts and Kim chi were served as appetizers. The hot oil was too spicy for me, so I used the broth side. It was pretty good, but I probably won’t go back. I didn’t pay, so I don’t know what it cost, but I think it was fairly expensive.

