In today’s news is a story abut Jeb Bush endorsing Rand Paul, Democrat dissatisfaction with Obama’s lack of endorsements, and Nancy Pelosi’s fondness for a certain Pennsylvania representative. How important are these endorsements?

In my entire life I have never decided to vote for a candidate because of an endorsement from another politician. Nor have I ever decided based on an editorial endorsement in any medium. In fact, I don’t even know anyone who ever voted because of a third party recommendation.

It is hard to imagine anyone sitting around waiting for an endorsement of some kind before deciding how to vote. Surely people are not that weak minded or uninformed.

The only possible scenario I can imagine would be someone coming out of a comas the day before an election. They an endorsement from someone they liked or respected might be helpful.

