About 6 months ago I dropped my Nikon Coolpix, breaking it. I got estimates from a couple of camera places and both gave me the same story. It would cost $80.+ to have it fixed. The amount of time it would it would take to make the repairs was unpredictable.

Having already dithered away 6 months without a camera, I decided not to wait any longer so I bought a new Olympus. Like my Nikon, it was a simple point and shoot model. My main reasons for buying it were it fit easily into my pants pocket, it wasn’t complicated to use, and the price was right. It also got 4.5 stars in the Amazon reviews.

Unlike every camera I have every purchased in the past, this one did not come with a memory card. card. The maker recommended an 8 gb card. Wanting lots of memory, I sprung for the Transcend 16 GB Class 10 SDHC Flash Memory Card. It cost $24.79 at Amazon

So I got my camera and my memory card. I charged it up and took a few dozed pics, just to see if I could figure it out. I could, and the pictures came out. That is when the recall notice came. My Transcend 16 GB Class q0 SDHC Flash Memory Card was recalled.

Glancing at the recall instructions, they said I would have to send the card back to Transcend. My first instinct was to forget the recall. My camera was brand new and I didn’t want to be without it. Also, the recall notice made it sound like only some cards might be bad. It did not sound like all cards were defective. For a test I took more than 100 pictures while sitting at my desk. The pictures came out perfectly and I was able to down load them into my laptop without a hitch. Everything worked perfectly. Keeping my card seemed like it might be the way to go.

Another possibility was to buy a second Transcend card, but from the bottom of the line. I believe they sell a 4 gb for about $8.79, and could be in my hands in 3 days. I could use it until my re-called card was replaced and back in my hands.

I realize 100+ pictures taken and processed successfully does not constitute a fool-proof test, but it’s good enough for me. I decided to keep the card. Life is so difficult.

