I just got back from my first, and probably last, Chinese flute lesson. Why? Because I am left-handed and it makes it difficult for the instructor and me to coordinate things like finger placement. Everything has be done like we are looking in a mirror. Oh yes, another problem might be that I have neither musical talent, nor an ear for music.

Over the years I have tried learning the guitar twice. Both times ended with me giving up quickly. Like the flute, I took a single violin lesson before giving up several years ago. I discovered that even trying to learn chords from instruction booklets was far too difficult for a lazy left-handed person.

I’ve noticed that Presidents Obama, Bush 43, and Clinton are all left-handed. Maybe I should give up music and attempt a run at politics.

