As everyone knows there is a big controversy about China selling solar units in the U.S. and in Europe, supposedly below the cost of manufacture. The politicians and the western solar manufacturers are up in arms about it. Complaints have been filed with the World Trade Organization, and the U.S. has slapped a tariff on solar units from China. Why?

If China wants to sell solar units below cost many will be used to generate power for me, either directly or indirectly, I’m all for it. Taxing the units to make them more expensive hurts me in the long run, and I’m against that. Unfortunately the solar energy lobby has Washington in its back pocket. There is little chance part of my electricity will be generated using the less expensive, untaxed, Chinese solar panels.

China wants to subsidize my electric bill, but American politicians say no. Thanks guys.

