I have always maintained that if you took the average Chinese person into the average

Chinese restaurant in America, they wouldn’t know they were eating Chinese food.

The food in American Chinese restaurants has been highly altered to better match American

tastes.

Chinese food is very distinct from American Chinese food.

DSCN0461

My favorite American Chinese dish is mu shu. It is classically made with pork, but I usually

request chicken and my request is always honored. The meat is cooked with garlic,

mushrooms, and soy, then served with raw bamboos shoots, onion, and thin pancakes.

Last night we had Dragon Boat dinner with some friends at a neighborhood cafe. Even

though they had a large picture menu with some English I didn’t order.

DSCN0463

One of the dishes was my old friend mu shu pork, American style. I made a pig of myself eating

it.

I guess I like American Chinese food more than Chinese Chinese food.

DSCN0469

