One of my favorite Chinese foods is lotus root soup. The first time I had it, I didn’t know what the lotus root was. I thought it was a bone of some sort, and only realized it was edible when others at the table began eating them.

Lotus root soup is best if slow cooked over charcoal in a giant clay jar. I’m sure everyone has seen the brown jars sitting outside restaurant doors.

All soup is best enjoyed when the weather is cool. This year we didn’t have many cool days, so it wasn’t until February that I went out in search of lotus root soup.

Usually lotus root soup is a fairly simple dish to make. It’s basically pork bones, red dates, a slice of lotus root, and water. My favorite place added all sorts of additional ingredients to its soup including mushrooms, ginger, potting soil, and floor sweepings. They would keep two clay jars fired up at all times. Lotus root soup was one of their specialties, and they seemed to sell a lot of it.

When I rounded the corner I was horrified to see the restaurant was gone. A hardware store was in its space. Not to worry, I knew of two additional places that made lotus root soup, and began walking toward them.

My trek was for naught. Both places were under new owners and no longer served lotus root soup.

It made me wonder why lotus root soup is getting so hard to find. The only thing I can think of is global warming is causing less soup to be consumed by making fewer cool days when soup is best. Global warming must be killing lotus root soup. Damn.

