Kagoshima  Sushi is located on Jingtian N. Street. It is about a 25 minute walk from my old residence. We used to eat there quite often, but since we moved it is more than an hour walk. We haven’t been there in more than a year.

Yesterday we went there for an early dinner. We walked and arrived about 16:00. There were just a few other customers in the place.

The sushi is served on a conveyor belt that goes around a large roundish bar. I enjoy the concept because you can look at the actual food instead of blindly ordering from a menu. Each dish is served on a plate that is color coded for price. The sushi chefs work in the center of the conveyor. They also have a menu with other Japanese foods.

DSCN0542

To be honest, I’m not a great lover of sushi. I find most of it tastes the same. I can’t tell the difference between a tiny silver of crab wrapped in rice with a seaweed cover from a piece of salmon, tuna, or shrimp, prepared the same way. Ultimately the pieces get dipped in a soy, ginger,  and wasabi dip that becomes the dominate flavor. If someone declared I could never have sushi again, I wouldn’t retire to my bed, weeping into the pillow.

Between us we picked seven plates of sushi from the conveyor, plus we ordered a bowl of noodle soup and a plate of French fries from the menu. I had a bottle of Japanese beer.

DSCN0546

The sushi was good. My favorite was the smoked eel because I could actually taste the eel. My least favorite was the tempura shrimp because it wasn’t served hot. The other dishes tasted like the soy/wasabi/ginger concoction described above. Since I find it hard to judge sushi by flavor, I judge it by presentation. This sushi was extremely well made, neat, and presented in an appetizing way.

Sea ate most of the noodle soup. I tasted a spoon full of broth. It was rich and flavorful with a touch of miso in the background.

Surprisingly, my favorite dish was the French fries. They were freshly made, not frozen, and while cooked maybe 30 seconds too long, they were still excellent.

I asked the chef if the recent ChinaJapan friction had affected his business, but because of language difficulties, we never really connected.

Sea has a discount card, so the bill came to RMB142 after a small reduction. Not bad. We were so full we took a taxi home instead of walking.

The restaurant earned 4 out of 5 stars on the prestigious Kirtley scale.

