Three days ago I stopped in a café about 15:00 to read my newspapers and drink a cold beer before returning home. There were 20, maybe 25 tables in the cafe, and only one other was occupied.

Then a few girls came in and sat down. Then a few more. Then a few more. They didn’t come in like an organized group. Sometimes one or two came in together, then a group of six, then a few minutes later maybe four came in. Soon every table in the café was filled.

I think they sent the lunch hour employees home about 14:00, so there was just the manager, the assistant manager and one waitress on duty in the dining room. From what I could see there was one cook in the dumpling/pancake making station and one, maybe two other cooks in the kitchen.

With this skeleton crew on duty, the café was unprepared to handle the full house they suddenly had. Everyone was yelling and running around trying to get things under control. Most of the women seemed pleasant and didn’t complain about the slow service.

I couldn’t figure out who these women were. Guessing, they seemed to range in age from their early 20s to mid 30s. They didn’t wear name tags or appear to have a leader. Whatever type of group it was seemed to be very informal.

I tried asking a few who they were, but none of the four or five I approached spoke English. Since it was raining when I left the house, I didn’t carry my camera that day, unfortunately.

I decided to give up my table so the café could seat people there who would spend more than my 6 RMB. I moved to an empty outside table.

There is a small café next to the one where I was. Once outside, I saw it was filled with women too. Next to it is a fairly large hot pot place, also overflowing with women.

Slowly the women finished their meals and began drifting out of the restaurants. They headed down the street to the left. Looking, I didn’t see tour busses or anything unusual. The women kind of dissolved into the street scene after a few blocks.

The next day I put my camera in my pocket and went back to the same café at the same time, but there was no pussy riot that day. Maybe I’ll go back again today, just in case.

